Reviews 2

I haven’t started writing my review but I apologize in advance for how long I know it’s going to be.
When planning our wedding, the first thing we nailed down was the venue and the immediate second thing was photographer. To me, this choice was quite possibly the most important part of the wedding. Now that you understand how important photography was to me, hopefully you won’t think I’m crazy when I explain the incredible process we went through.
4 months. 50 photographers. Luke Snyder.
We started with 50 photographers online. From there, narrowed it down from online portfolios to 15 to meet in person. Narrowed it down again to 5 close choices taking into consideration: photography style, personality, and cost. At this point, the choice was becoming very hard and overwhelming. We made a spreadsheet. We assigned categories and rankings. We weighted scores and gave each photographer an overall score. But no, this was not enough. I wanted to make sure we got the BEST photographer for us.
Then we had a cool idea. Blind photo test. My fiance took different photos from our favorite photographers and mixed all of them up. I ranked my favorites, gave it to our family to also look through to get another opinion. People seemed to enjoy the game we came up with. Or thought we were crazy. Forget those people. Anyway, Luke and one other photographer ended up being finalist. Luke was slightly cheaper but what really pushed it over the edge was Luke’s personality and style.
He is so easy to work with and so responsive to communication. (Note: We were still worried about cost and were able to negotiate with Luke a little bit but I got the impression he doesn’t like that part of the process.) After our initial meeting, we knew we would pick Luke. After the engagement session, we were SURE we made the right decision. – August 2011. Auberge Du Soleil. Luke is one of the best vendor choices I made for the wedding. His photos were beautiful and I couldn’t be happier. His style is friendly, non obtrusive yet leading. Many MANY of our guests and other vendors commented on his professionalism. I wanted someone who would take the lead without bossing us around and making us feel uncomfortable. When I look back on some of the photos, I don’t know how he got the shots he did. Most of the time, I didn’t even notice he was there!
I think his photos speak for themselves. We are definitely more into modern, artistic, photo journalistic style photos. I could always write more but I think it’s really up to the couple to find the right photographer that fits their style and personality. Luke was absolutely the best choice for us and I hope you can find that too!
Leslie W
1/3/2012

——————————————————————————–

This is definitely “as good as it gets.” Luke and his brother Sky recently photographed my friend’s wedding this labor day weekend and their work was beyond what I expected.
Helping plan the wedding from Chicago I found Luke on Yelp. I sent his website link to my friend and they absolutely loved him!!!
Luke and Sky have a great eye that catches the most unnoticed moments of the day. Creating a “delicious” vantage point that is captured in their pictures.
Beyond their photographs, Luke and Sky are thoughful, kind, and passionate about their work.
I highly recommend them!!

Sky and Luke at Viansa Winery!!
Marie B 9/11/2010

——————————————————————————–

Luke is amazing! He did an outstanding job on our engagement and wedding photos! My husband who does not love taking photos felt completely relaxed with Luke. He captured every moment of our day so that we can relive the special day over and over! We will use him for every major event in our lives! He is so enjoyable to work with and has a great eye for photography! Truly a very talented artist!
Brooke M.
6/15/2013

——————————————————————————–

Oh wow! Words can’t fully express how very pleased we are with Luke’s work. After blowing us away with how our engagement pictures turned out, we couldn’t have imagined hiring a better photographer for our wedding. Luke’s vision for photography is truly amazing. He’s also very enjoyable to work with & has great ideas. The way he’s able to capture those special moments is definitely priceless. We can’t wait to work with him more in the future for family portraits & occasions.
Alhea N.
10/9/2012

——————————————————————————–

I wish to bring an evaluation from the photographers perspective as I am also a wedding photographer in San Francisco and have assisted Luke with three weddings.
so…
1. Luke is professional. Besides challenging me to appropriately dress for a wedding, Luke also showed a business side of wedding photography that I had not yet seen. He is serious in what he does, knows what needs to be done in order for the day to happen, and does not throw a fit when something goes wrong. He can flow. That is something I see above most things.
2. Luke is fun. From the beginning, luke was always trying to make the people he was working with have fun in what they were doing as well as connect with them. He also did an incredible job at making the bride and groom both feel comfortable with each other as well as having a camera in their face (which from my experience is not always easy).
3. Luke is great at what he does. After having conversations with him in regards to where this industry is heading and where he fits in that, I can only assume that his passion and zeal for photography is what drives him to capture what he is able to capture, and if he fits what you are looking for, then stop looking for other photographers because he is the right one.
I HIGHLY recommend Luke as a photographer.
Isaiah
11/22/2011

——————————————————————————–

I should preface this by stating my review is based on our interactions with Luke Snyder in trying to interview and find a wedding photographer. We did not use Luke in the end, but would consider this an endorsement for his work.
As my wife was quite busy in planning for our wedding, I felt one of my big contributions would be to do extensive research and comparisons to find the ideal photographer for us. I spent at least a few weeks poring over pictures, spreadsheets, web pages, galleries, etc. and we interviewed a number of photographers throughout California as well.
Luke’s pictures caught my eye early on and after an initial interview with him, we liked him even more. He certainly has a photo journalistic background which blends well with his passion for wedding and engagement photography. You could tell he had an artistic energy and thoughtfulness about him. His pictures have power, emotion, and depth to them which is complemented by his post-processing as well. Pictures did not have a cheesiness to them that plagued many other photographers’ works I’d reviewed (however, some couples may prefer this depending on their tastes). Additionally, I enjoyed the fact that he was quite conscious about use of lighting in his pictures, esp with either natural or offset lighting which makes his pictures stand out. He seemed very easy going and easy to work with as well.
After our interview, we had several exchanges during which he offered us additional galleries and samples in order to help us decide on our best match for a photographer. We had many questions about style preferences and other details that I suspect many couples may not even think of, however he was quite responsive and willing to try and accommodate.
His pricing seemed comparable to the mid-range of wedding photographers serving the Napa valley region. This was in consideration that he’d been doing wedding photography for only a few years, but brought extensive experience and knowledge from his prior work in photography.
Unfortunately, after multiple exchanges in trying to nail down many details between my wife and Luke, we were told that he felt he would not be the best fit for us and he declined to be our photographer.
It’s been months since our wedding and we were quite happy with the photographer that we eventually used. I have no hard feelings for Luke and am not surprised that he has many great reviews on Yelp given his quality of work. I think he will continue to impress as he gets even more wedding photography experience. Best of luck, Luke! –
Power N.
12/30/2010

——————————————————————————–

Absolutely Amazing!!
I was just looking over our wedding photos and felt complied to rave about my experience with Luke Snyder Studio. My wedding was June 201. I was super happy with how at ease and comfortable he made me and my wedding party feel. It was fanatic day of prepping, picture taking, marrying and partying. I mean fanatic like the best day of my life thus far. I’d ever felt so beautiful and happy!
Over a year later I’m still thrilled with all our pictures. So happy I’m having a hard time deciding which ones to hang. I may just rotate them for the rest of our life for Luke supplied us with gallons of priceless shots! Thank you Luke and Sky!!! -Baby k.
10/1/2012

——————————————————————————–

Luke was our photographer for our wedding at V. Sattui. From the moment we met him and saw his work we knew we wanted to work with him.
Luke arrived right on time and was very professional throughout our wedding day. He was there to take photos every step of the way but was never intrusive. It was as if we didn’t even know he was there and we really appreciated his style.
Luke was prompt in sending us a few “sneak” photos just a few days after the wedding and we spent hours drooling over them. We were thrilled to see more proofs a few weeks later on his website and were elated to receive the final product of 500+ photos.
We still can’t believe how beautiful the photos are! Luke captured the beauty and magic of the day and gave us everything we were looking for in our photos. He is extremely artistic and creative and we are thrilled to have been able to work with him.
We highly recommend Luke! If you are considering Luke as your photographer, the best decision you can make is to work with him. – Jackson G. 10/16/2010

——————————————————————————–

Want to read more reviews about me?  Click here for plenty.